News & Scoops

2009 July 21

Introducing...the CFDA's Newest Members

Comments | | Print

(NEW YORK) Today, the CFDA announced the latest 31 industry types to join the organization. Alexander Wang, Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, Maria Pinto, and Jason Wu were among the annual inductees. CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg has aggressively sought to increase the number of new designers admitted. In 2008, 28 joined the organization, while 31 more were admitted in 2007. The other designers admitted are Susie Cho of Inhabit; Chris Benz, Kevin Carrigan, Calvin Klein; Lyn Devon, Tim Hamilton, Erin Fetherston, Christina and Swaim Hutson of Hutson, Alejandro Ingelmo, Christopher and Nicholas Kunz of Nicholas K, Marcella and Johan Lindeberg of Paris 68, J.Lindeberg and William Rast, Deborah Lloyd of Kate Spade, Jenna Lyons of J.Crew, Deborah Marquit, Stefan Miljanic of Gilded Age, Irene Neuwirth, John Patrick of Organic, Jill Platner, Lorraine Schwartz, Simon Spurr of Spurr, Michael Smaldone of Talbots, Koi Suwannagate, Albertus Swanepoel, and Daiki Suzuki of Engineered Garments,

The traditional CFDA New Members party has also changed formats for 2009. Instead of the usual cocktail party, which was held at the home of Elie and Rory Tahari last fall, von Furstenberg will host an intimate dinner at the Four Seasons restaurant on October 21.

View All