News & Scoops

2009 June 5

Making the Cut

Comments | | Print

Anne Christensen for Jason Wu Anne Christensen for Jason Wu
View Gallery

(NEW YORK) A group of nine designers have been nominated for the CFDA's Swarovski Awards, and this year, the June 15 ceremony will toast them in new and unexpected ways. KCD, which spearheads the event and represents the CFDA, has produced nine short films, each of which is dedicated to a particular nominee.

Thakoon Panichgul, Jason Wu, Alexander Wang, Justin Giunta, Alejandro Ingelmo, Albertus Swanepoel, Patrik Ervell, Tim Hamilton and Robert Geller were shot with his or her "muse" (an editor or stylist) in the films, which were directed by Michael Palmieri and still photographed by Jennifer Livingston.

Menswear nominee Ervell was shot with V's Jay Massacret, while women's wear contender Wu partnered with T's Anne Christensen. Accessory nominee Giunta's model is Harper's Bazaar accessories director Ana Maria Pimentel. Other featured editors include Anne Slowey, Brian Coats, Brian Molloy, Kate Lanphear, Camilla Nickerson and Melanie Ward. And one reminder to those of you invited to vote for the winners--the deadline is today, June 5 at midnight. (Here's the link to do so online, for those of you who misplaced that email). Those who make it to Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center for the Awards, which will be hosted by Tracey Ullman, will see the films in full. Until then...

View All